• Kyoritsu Foods Wheat Gluten/共立食品 小麦グルテン. Even though the terms “Vegan” and “Gluten Free” frequently show up near each other on food packaging these days, they are unrelated. Non-Dairy Margarine & Butter, Cheese, Cream, & Yogurts, Tomiz Wheat Gluten, 60 grams/国産 小麦たんぱく / 60g. This post contains some affiliate links, and if you follow one of those links and then purchase a product you help support this blog without any additional cost to you. • Nichiga Wheat Gluten 小麦グルテン 800g 活性小麦たん白 NICHIGA ニチガ. The traditional Japanese form of wheat gluten, ‘Fu’ (麩/ふ), is easy to find in supermarkets. Are Wheat Thins Vegan? There are also specialty gluten ‘meat’ products available in some stores and online. Ingredients: Wheat protein. And no, not all vegans are gluten free as a vegan diet and a gluten free diet are mutually exclusive. This product is the same as vital wheat gluten flour, so it’s possible to make seitan yourself at home using it. Copyright © 2020 Veg Knowledge. Ingredient: Wheat gluten. Ingredients: Deep-fried gluten slices, sugar, miso. Manufactured in a facility that also makes products containing egg and milk. For those who do not live in Japan, products sold on Rakuten Ichiba can be shipped to other countries via Rakuten Global Express (English). •  Tomiz Wheat Gluten, 60 grams/国産 小麦たんぱく / 60g. It is a traditional food of the Tome area in northern Miyagi prefecture, consisting of kneaded wheat protein (gluten) as the main ingredient, hand-made using soybean oil. Not everyone that follows a vegan diet is gluten free and vise versa. It is either sold raw as ‘nama-fu’ (生麩/なまふ), or dry as ‘yaki-fu’ (焼き麩/やきふ). 7 Great Vegan Options at Panda Express (Updated 2020), 6 Vegan Options at Dairy Queen (Updated 2020). • Alishan Organic Gluten/有機グルテン. Premade seitan is not well known and can be difficult to find in Japan. Wheat gluten is a food made from gluten, the main protein of wheat. Those that choose to follow a vegan diet will avoid eating all animal related products (meat, fish, dairy, etc.) Moving on to traditional Japanese “fu,” Vege Project Japan has certified Sendai Deep-Fried Gluten Slices and Sendai Miso Rusk as vegan. Rakuten stocks this product in 800 gram bags, and it’s also available on the Nichiga website in 800 gram,1.5 kg, or 3 kg bags. Ingredient: Wheat gluten. A Veg Hummus Breakdown. • San Iku Gluten Meat. The short answers: Yes, vegans can eat gluten as gluten is a group of proteins found in plant based cereal grains. As the title suggests, these questions are: Can vegans eat gluten? Those that follow a vegan diet for health reasons will often refer to their diet as a plant-based diet or a whole food plant-based diet. Wheat gluten – also known as seitan – contains no animal products at all, offering a high-protein choice for vegans.